9 Comments
Feb 9, 2022Liked by Ed Tankersley

Hi I’m Sallie from Phoenix. The best part of my day in the winter is reading a book while sitting in the afternoon sun. I’m not currently a writer. (Sorry, Ed, Google in its infinite wisdom put your email into a special folder- not spam!).

Expand full comment

Hello, I'm a reader and writer. Love 19th-century English lit., murder mysteries, Emily Dickinson, for a sampling; have written fiction short and long, poetry, other forms, and started on Substack in December, writing about being the mom of a son with special needs. I'm working on a short short story and hope this Story Course will be helpful!

Expand full comment
Jan 25, 2022Liked by Ed Tankersley

I'm Cathrine. I live in Phoenix, AZ. I'm writing a fantasy novel and trying to be more consistent with my writing efforts. I lead a book group where we read mostly literary fiction which often includes socially relevant topics. I love to read short stories and non-fiction, including Great Courses on audible.com.

Expand full comment
author

I'll start. I'm Ed, the creator of Read Write Repeat and of Story Course. I'm in Phoenix, where it's a chilly 65 degrees today, so sweater weather. I write fiction, both short and long, as well as poetry, and with this Substack I'm also trying my hand at teaching/guiding as well as at personal essays.

I read mostly literary fiction, primarily contemporary but I'm also dipping back into classics to fill in the holes in my literary education. I try to read at least one "big" book each year, something that challenges me (and my understanding of fiction). I think that this year it will (finally) be Ulysses by James Joyce; I've started it at least three times in past years and not finished.

Expand full comment